Instragram is killing my blog…

Instagram is killing my blog.

The whole reason why I started my blog was so I could jot down all the amazing food I’ve eaten and the wonderful places I’ve experienced. I find myself going back to reference my blog to walk down memory lane, and also to look up my recipes that I haven’t made for a while, but keeping up to date is falling by the wayside. I even thought that my love of all of your gorgeous photography would inspire me to use my camera more, and, you know what ? The iPhone takes pretty decent photos (albeit not so great in dim lighting), without the hassle of having to pack another thing in my already-heavy handbag. Just snap and post. Easy.

The other reason I’ve been so slack is that our Mac, which is probably 6 years old, made navigating around the Mac s-u-p-e-r  s-l-o-w, and it finally died which gave me a good reason to rush out and buy a new one – so now I have no excuses !

I have recently felt, though, that there is something missing in my life, and I am going to admit it now – it’s that little thrill of accomplishment that I get when I hit the “publish” button. I know, some people climb mountains, conquer their fears, try new things. Cut me some slack here, whilst blogging certainly isn’t as mentally or physically challenging, it’s something that I find myself smiling every time I am writing – it honestly gives me joy, and that’s good enough reason for me.

I know some of you also have had challenges in keeping up with blogging – any other suggestions you have or experienced that can help to maintain this renewed vigour that I’ve found ?

ps – and if you are on instagram, let’s connect ! @carolynmfchan

 

About Carolyn Chan

A girl slowly eating her way around Singapore and farther afield when she's lucky. View all posts by Carolyn Chan

4 responses to “Instragram is killing my blog…

  • Kiran @ KiranTarun.com

    I can totally relate to everything you have gone through and how micro-blogging is very convenient these days.

    My only advice is to continue enjoying what you love doing, instead of taking it way too seriously or as an obligation. That definitely takes the fun out of everything.

    I’m @kirantarun on instagram :)

  • Bam's Kitchen

    Hello Carolyn, I am following you on instagram. @bamskitchen

  • Mama's Gotta Bake

    I echo your sentiments exactly. I too get a kick each time I hit the publish button and it’s been almost 4 years. It never gets old. Carolyn, keep doin’ what you’re doin’!

  • Barbara Bamber | justasmidgen

    I love blogging.. but really had to lay down the pen, er computer, lately. I’m so busy with every day life it’s impossible to keep up the pace I initially had. It seemed best when I was semi-retired.. then I could treat it like a full time job.. and I loved it, I will say that about blogging.. I really love it! @justasmidgen

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 622 other followers

