What would I do without my Nespresso ?

Apart from the genius ads they have starring George Clooney (my favourite pictured here), I can honestly say that Nespresso has changed my coffee-drinking life.

Coming from Sydney – the city which has a pretty damn good coffee in almost every street corner (see my previous post on my local favourites when I used to live there) – I have struggled to find a good coffee close to home now that I live in Singapore.  We inherited a Nespresso machine from my parents when mum needed a more streamlined version to fit into her new kitchen and ever since then, I have had the wonderful benefit of a McDonalds-type coffee, any time I want, in the comfort of my own home.  Seriously, because the coffee comes in individually vacuum-sealed capsules, you are guaranteed the same great coffee, EVERY TIME.  No need to store the coffee in airtight containers in the freezer, no need to worry how much water to put in the percolator, just consistently terrific coffee that needs nothing added – no milk, no sugar – to be enjoyed.

I have to admit, the name “Nespresso” to me, came initially with a good dose of skepticism, with its association with awful instant coffee, but I have learned my lesson and it is NOT bitter heehee.

And I’ve been to the Nespresso boutique in Ion on Orchard Road to buy more coffee capsules, and there, you can try new roasts or just enjoy your favourite cup of coffee.

I also appreciate the no service required AND the no-mess cleanup – you simply bin the empty capsules.  No messing about with wet ground coffee beans.

I swear I think every home should have one.  And every workplace too !  I’m sure it would guarantee an alert team of employees who would also be happy at not having to pay $6 for a cup of dishwashing water from Starbucks.

Nespresso boutique in Singapore
ION Orchard
2 Orchard Turn , #01-14
238801 Singapore

About Carolyn Chan

A girl slowly eating her way around Singapore and farther afield when she's lucky. View all posts by Carolyn Chan

One response to “What would I do without my Nespresso ?

  • Carolyn Chan

    Just found out they have a limited edition “Kazaa” strength 12 bean. Tried it this morning and it’s pretty bitter – needs a ton of sugar to be able to drink it. I’m sticking to my Indriya (strength 10) – all that needs is half a teaspoon of sugar. Mmmmm.

Leave a Reply

