Carrot Cake

One for the kids (full of nutritious carrots), for those allergic to dairy (without the icing) and also a general all-round favourite cake (I personally think because of the icing).  This recipe is from the Edmonds “Sure To Rise” cookbook.

Ingredients for the cake

  1. 3 eggs
  2. 1/2 cup oil (I use olive oil)
  3. 2 cups plain flour
  4. 1 cup sugar
  5. 3 tsp baking soda
  6. 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  7. 3 cups carrot, grated
  8. 1/2 cups walnuts, chopped
  9. 1 tsp grated orange rind
  10. 3/4 cup crushed pineapple

Ingredients for the icing

  1. 2 tbl butter, softened
  2. 1/4 cup cream cheese, at room temperature
  3. 1 cup icing sugar

Method for cake

  1. Beat eggs till thick
  2. Stir in oil
  3. Sift flour, sugar, baking soda and cinnamon into the egg mixture and combine
  4. Fold in carrots, walnuts, orange rind and pineapple
  5. Grease and line the base of a 23cm ring tin
  6. Spoon mixture into tin and bake at 180C for 50 – 60 mins or until skewer comes out clean
  7. Leave in tin for 10 mins before turning out on to wire rack
  8. When cold, ice with cream cheese icing

Method for icing

  1. Beat butter and cream cheese until light and creamy
  2. Mix in icing sugar and beat well to combine
  3. Lick beaters 🙂
About Carolyn Chan

A girl slowly eating her way around Singapore and farther afield when she's lucky. View all posts by Carolyn Chan

10 responses to “Carrot Cake

  • Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

    That’s a nice twist on a classic. I like that you use olive oil, with all the heavy, dense flavors I think that must taste great.

  • rsmacaalay

    You use that recipe book as well 🙂 Lovely carrot cake!

    • Carolyn Chan

      It’s the BEST present my friends gave me for my birthday many years ago – it’s very well worn in my house. Lots of great classics in there. My other favourite is the Cooks Companion – what’s yours ?

  • Alf

    I actually bought most of the ingredients and will attempt this weekend! My FIRST cake! Questions though – cinnamon – you mean ground cinnamon? Could not find it in a few supermarkets so far and bought the sticks though. Orange rind – is this simply orange peel? Does it need to be dried or do I simply peel them off an orange? 🙂

    • Carolyn Chan

      Wow Alf that’s terrigic that you are baking your first cake !! Re your questions – yep it’s ground cinnamon. I have never ground sticks, if you do, then make sure they are like a powder because you don’t want to be eating bits of wood in your cake. You should be able to find it in the spice section of the supermarket where you also find dried herbs ? And orange rind is exactly that – orange peel – but it’s the bit MINUS the white spongy part as that tastes bitter. IF you have a zester us that but if not, just use the fine grater that you use for cheese etc. You just want the very top outside layer because that’s where the orange oil/flavour/twang is. The only other thing to remember is when you mix the wet and dry ingredients together, try not to mix everything super thoroughly. Mix so they are juuust combined. Sometimes if you overmix cake batter it releases the gluten and can make the cake heavy. Good luck, let me know how it goes !!

      • Alf

        Wow, that’s really useful info, Carol! Yes, I would have mixed it very thoroughly haha, and wouldn’t have known about not including the white spongy part of the orange peel. Will try and let you know! 🙂

  • Alf

    I finally did this, and boy, what a flop. 😦 The cake turned out really flat (barely half the cake tin) and tasted funny with a strange aftertaste. Not sure where I went wrong there. The only edible/nice thing was the icing… I really suck! Perhaps my first cake should be something simpler?

    • Carolyn Chan

      OH NOOOOO Alf ! I am so sorry ! The only thing I can think of is that you overmixed the batter. I was not kidding when I said barely mix it – I just made banana bread today and it’s the same thing – you can see streaks of flour where it didn’t even get wet. Not sure about the taste though…
      How about start with something smaller…like a muffin ? Check out my cakes and bakes label and try the blueberry muffin or the sticky gooey butter cake or the chocolate chip cookies. All very easy (and yummy !) I will also be posting up the recipe for my banana bread later.
      JUST DON’T GIVE UP!!

  • My first cake – fail | The Void Deck

    […] I love cake. Chocolate cake. Butter cake. Carrot cake. So I decided to make one, inspired by a friend’s blog (and recipe). […]

Leave a Reply

