Home made sausage rolls from scratch

Homemade sausage rolls in puff and shortcrust pastry

I knew there was something odd about my shop in the supermarket that day – asking for that much minced pork struck me as strange. On auto-pilot, I carried on, paid and got home only to realise that I was trying to make sausage rolls with just minced pork and not sausage meat. Feeling a tad dusty from a few too many drinks the night before, the last thing I wanted to do was head back to the supermarket again, so I did a bit of research online hoping that I would have everything I needed already in the pantry or fridge.

I also found that night that I had just one sheet of puff pastry and decided to do half the mix with puff and the other with shortcrust pastry, thinking it might be just as good.  Final verdict – stick to puff – it had a better texture and flavour that worked better – with my sausage meat, anyway.

Essentially anything goes with sausages in terms of flavouring, but you need to ensure that you have sufficient fat in the sausage – apparently a minimum of 10%, to ensure that the sausage meat stays moist (I’d go for more, around 25%).

Here’s the recipe – measurements are estimated, my suggestion is that you fry a small pattie of the mix to check for flavour/seasoning before you commit to wrapping the entire lot in pastry.  But just have fun with what you have available and/or what you think will work together !

Ingredients – makes about 8 individual sausage rolls about 10cm in length

  • 400g minced pork – don’t pick the lean pork mince if you have a choice
  • 100g fat – pork fat if you can get it, I had duck fat which I used and it added a nice gamey flavour to my sausage meat
  • 1 onion, finely diced
  • 2 tbls dried sage (or handful of fresh if you have it)
  • 2 tbls maple syrup
  • Generous pinch of salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • Pinch cayenne pepper
  • 2 sheets ready rolled puff pastry
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 200C
  2. Combine pork, fat, sage, maple syrup, salt, pepper and cayenne pepper together in a large bowl and mix well with your hands.  You can test for flavour and seasoning by frying off small patties
  3. Shape into 4 round logs about 5cm in diameter and about 1 cm short of the length of the pastry (this allows some space for the meat to expand as it cooks)
  4. Place on the pastry about 3cm from one side and roll the pastry over the sausage meat, cut the pastry so that you have an overlap of about 2-3cm
  5. Brush some of the beaten egg along the edges and seal
  6. Continue until you finish all the sausage meat, you should have four long sausage rolls.  You can leave it there or I cut each in half to make them a bit more manageable to eat
  7. Arrange on a roasting rack over a tray and brush the rest of the beaten egg over the pastry
  8. Bake in oven for 20 – 25 mins or until golden brown
About Carolyn Chan

A girl slowly eating her way around Singapore and farther afield when she's lucky. View all posts by Carolyn Chan

2 responses to “Home made sausage rolls from scratch

Leave a Reply

