Chicken and sweet corn soup

I was four years old when my family migrated to Australia, and back in those days the Sydney Asian food scene was nothing like it is today. Think generic Chinese – lemon chicken, honey prawns, beef in black bean sauce – all of them distant relatives of anything remotely authentic in any part of Asia.

We are now enjoying the  distinctly different Asian cuisines, not only by country, but even by regions within each. How different is the spicy food of Szechuan to the more commonly known Cantonese dishes of Hong Kong ? The difference in the more sugary Thai food vs the light herby freshness of Vietnamese ?

But, I digress.

While I was growing up, one of the treats my parents would indulge me with whenever we went out for dinner, would be a bowl of chicken and sweet corn soup. I’d roasted a chicken on the weekend and had leftover breast meat, which I thought I’d use to make my favourite “tacky” Chinese soup.

There’s nothing authentic about this soup, but the combination of salty and sweet, and the thick, comforting texture takes me back to simpler days when I was just a kid having my dinner treat in a restaurant with my family.

Ingredients enough to make 6 rice bowls of soup

  1. leftover chicken meat – about 1 single breast worth
  2. 1L chicken stock
  3. 1 tin creamed corn
  4. 1 tbl cornstarch
  5. 1 egg
  6. white pepper

Method

  1. Dice the chicken meat and add to a pot withthe chicken stock and bring to boil
  2. Add the creamed corn
  3. Mix the cornstarch with some water and slowly stir into the soup
  4. Bring to the boil, lightly beat the egg and slowly pour from a height so that you get ribbons of egg through the soup
  5. Serve hot with white pepper
About Carolyn Chan

A girl slowly eating her way around Singapore and farther afield when she's lucky. View all posts by Carolyn Chan

17 responses to “Chicken and sweet corn soup

Leave a Reply

