Pea and ham soup

I love pea and ham soup. I find it so hearty and comforting and I love the vibrant green colour with the pink specks of ham (which really shouldn’t work as food) and was always a traditional post Christmas dish from the left over ham. I don’t have a proper butcher near me so I don’t have easy access to ham on the bone, but I have found a substitute which works well. Bacon bones can easily be found at Cold Storage and I use these as well as supplement with normal shaved/sliced ham.

Ingredients to make 6 -8 servings (make lots and freeze the leftovers for a quick dinner or snack later)

  1. 1 onion, diced
  2. 200g bacon bones
  3. 100 g finely sliced ham
  4. 200g split green peas (I’ve also used yellow when I couldn’t find green)
  5. 2 bay leaves

Method

  1. Sweat the onion over low heat until translucent
  2. Turn the heat to medium and fry the bacon bones, stirring occasionally for 10 mins
  3. Add the peas and bay leaves and enough water to just cover the peas
  4. Simmer for 1 1/2 hours
  5. Take out the bacon and let cool before shredding/slicing
  6. Remove the bay leaves and discard
  7. Blend the pea soup (without the bacon) until it’s the consistency you’d like.  Add more water if it’s too thick
  8. Add the bacon and the ham to the pureed soup and season if necessary
About Carolyn Chan

A girl slowly eating her way around Singapore and farther afield when she's lucky. View all posts by Carolyn Chan

4 responses to “Pea and ham soup

Leave a Reply

