Roasted butternut pumpkin and spinach salad

Do you really need a recipe for a salad ? I guess not, but I was so impressed at just how good my salad looked that I wanted to record it for posterity. I need as much encouragement as I can with salads. It’s not that I don’t like them, there are just so many better alternatives in my eyes (or stomach). And I think with salads there are some combinations that just work better than others. Enjoy and feel healthy while your eyes feast on the joyful colours in the bowl 🙂

Ingredients

  1. Butternut pumpkin
  2. Sea salt
  3. Olive oil
  4. Pine nuts
  5. Baby spinach leaves
  6. Dried cranberries
  7. Dried apple

Method

  1. Cut the pumpkin into chunks, toss in some olive oil, sprinkle some sea salt and roast in a hot oven (200C/390F) for 40 minutes
  2. Dry fry the pine nuts till they have a nice golden brown colour
  3. Mix everything together and dress with a drizzle of olive oil and salt and pepper to taste
About Carolyn Chan

A girl slowly eating her way around Singapore and farther afield when she's lucky. View all posts by Carolyn Chan

4 responses to “Roasted butternut pumpkin and spinach salad

Leave a Reply

